poor brakes on our early 28 .

AA Ford Discussion Group relating to the repair and restoration of your AA Ford.
Harry Lipki
Body Type: AA Chassis
Model Year: 1928

poor brakes on our early 28 .

Post by Harry Lipki »

The brakes on our 28AA pepsi truck are hard to work . The shoes are new -- the linkages are free .. yet it takes 2 men and an army to apply the brake . mind you it stops easier with the brake lever (left hand ). I am new to this and do not know how to fix . Help me whoa her down ?
Attachments
on display.JPG
on display.JPG (45.93 KiB) Viewed 9379 times
Last edited by Harry Lipki on February 8th, 2011, 2:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
spectria
Body Type: Mail Truck, Stakebed
Model Year: 1931

Re: poor brakes on our early 28 .

Post by spectria »

Harry Lipki wrote:The brakes on our 28AA pepsi truck are hard to work . The shoes are new -- the linkages are free .. yet it takes 2 men and an army to apply the brake . mind you it stops easier with the brake lever (left hand ). I am new to this and do not know how to fix . Help me whoa her down ?
With mechanical brakes, it is a function of leverage. Obviously that huge long handle on the "E-Brake" (I know that's wrong somehow) is much greater than the leverage on the pedal. It would be simple to increase the leverage on the pedal by shortening the arms somewhere, but then you run the risk of running out of travel or breaking something.
I won't be trusting my existing brake rods due to their age.

Of course you will soon get input from others about how the brakes work very well when built/matched correctly, so I would first go with rechecking all the working parts to be sure Shoes and Drums are properly matched. Something about steel and woven, or cast and organic shoes... can not keep that straight in my head.

The arch of a brake shoe is very important, they must have a curve very close to curve of the drum.