Transmission tower

AA Ford Discussion Group relating to the repair and restoration of your AA Ford.
Pasaa
Body Type: 1 1/2 ton doodlebug
Model Year: 1930

Transmission tower

Post by Pasaa »

Hello. I am new to any kind of forum. I have a couple of questions: 1. I have a spare 4-speed with the screw-on collar on the shift tower. It has the emergency brake mounting bosses on the left side. What's it from?
2. This is the important one. The collar on my AA is the press-on type with pins. It is very worn. In addition, unless I am extremely careful, I can end up in two gears at once. Are there any sources for replacement parts for these transmissions? Are there any drawings available from which I could measure the wear and possibly refurb?
Thanks
Warren S
Body Type: E30 Fuel tanker

Re: Transmission tower

Post by Warren S »

This was an easy fix for mine with the same issues... I drilled out the hole in the shifter enough to make it round.. Then I made a new pin that was an exact fit and cut the slot in the pin to hold the cap in place.. You want to make sure the ball is round (or close to round) on the shifter.. also make sure that the shafts move freely and the detents snap into place as they should. If the slot in the forks are worn to bad, they can be welded lighly to build them up and machined or filed to bring them back to normal.. None of this is beyond a basic lathe or a drill press and a file and some time... Warren.. Dont check this site that often so contact me at wasuker@comcast.net and I can try to explain it in greater detail...
rollingsculpture
Body Type: platform
Model Year: 1931

Post by rollingsculpture »

i recall brattons sells replacement parts for the aa trans take a look at their site
Pasaa

Post by Pasaa »

Thank you for the good information. Do you know if there are any drawings available to reference in cases where I need to add material (i.e., weld)?