FrankenTractor...Please Help Me Identify the Powertrain

AA Ford Discussion Group relating to the repair and restoration of your AA Ford.
Grand Valley Tractor
Model Year: 1930

FrankenTractor...Please Help Me Identify the Powertrain

Post by Grand Valley Tractor »

Hello all,

I'm a newbie here. I've been researching an odd tractor I purchased recently. It appears most of the running gear is Ford, and specifically, the AA (I think!). Here's the story as I've pieced it together so far:

FrankenTractor - A Piece of NE Ohio/NW Pennsylvania History
8/6/13
This tractor is unique. It's not what I would refer to as a "Doodlebug". Generally speaking, Doodlebugs were tractors made from cars. Likewise, I think it an err to call it a homebuilt, because more than one of this specific design were built. There were apparently a dozen or so planned, two completed and one being built when the originator, whose dream this was, suddenly died. This happened in the mid-50's.
I acquired FrankenTractor in mid-July of 2013 from a friend. He had gotten it from another local (residing in Windsor, Ohio) in the mid-90's. My friend said that this other local fellow had gotten it from the original owner (either directly or from his estate or at an auction) about 1970. I had my eye on this tractor for at least 3 years. It was unique and it was local NE Ohio or NW Pennsylvania history…and I'm a sucker for both. Construction details follow. None of this is cast in concrete yet, as I'm still discovering something new nearly every day.
Two main "C" channel frame rails extend the length of FrankenTractor. Along it's length, there are a couple cross-members. Additional support is provided by the engine's bell housing and rear axle.