Paint colors, ANd mirror placement.

AA Ford Discussion Group relating to the repair and restoration of your AA Ford.
ModelAAfreddie
Body Type: Flatbed
Model Year: 1928

Paint colors, ANd mirror placement.

Post by ModelAAfreddie »

Hi. Newbie here. I’m gene . Niles California. 1928 model. Flatbed. Long time listener, first time caller. ( old joke from mr obvious).
I have a couple questions.....
1: Paint colors....when restoring, is pAinting a color other than standard a big deduction?
Is there category or acceptance if truck is restor3d appropriate but not standard color?

2. Mirror placement....my truck has mirror drivers side, attached at hinge bottom of drivers door window level. I haven’t seen any pictures that match the location. The mirror is rectangular, which I’m sure isn’t correct, but wondering about the specific location.

I can’t figure out how to attach a photo...says file too large. Email or text I can send photo! 843-813-1883 Gene_underwood@hotmail.com
KimVanOrder
Body Type: 82-A Platform

Re: Paint colors, ANd mirror placement.

Post by KimVanOrder »

paint idea!! I have not tried it (yet). But why not go with original colors and then "jazz" it up with that new pint that you can peal off!?? Still stick with the 'original' and also have creative freedom...

My mirror is high on the left. Round... Check out some photos...
KVO
Dec. '28 AA
KimVanOrder
Body Type: 82-A Platform

Post by KimVanOrder »

oh!! Reduce your photo's resolution... That makes it 'smaller'.
KVO
Dec. '28 AA
1crosscut
Body Type: 82-A
Model Year: 1929

Post by 1crosscut »

Hello and welcome to the forum.
If you are going to enter your truck into fine point judging you will get deductions for having a non factory paint color. I'm not aware of a class that specifically is for non standard paint colors.
In my opinion it's your truck and you can paint it what ever color that pleases you.

You will have to resize your picture to make it small enough to post.