Paint colors

AA Ford Discussion Group relating to the repair and restoration of your AA Ford.
ModelAAfreddie
Body Type: Flatbed
Model Year: 1928

Paint colors

Post by ModelAAfreddie »

Hello. I’m a newbie....long time listener, first time cLler.

I’ve been reading old posts, books, etc. it looks to me like COMMERCIAL GREY was only color for early 1928 model aa, then GUN METAL BLUE from mid 1928- and forward.
My truck is a 1928 model aa. 82A cab with Ford script platform bed.

Is commercial grey the correct color? And is there an example of that color anywhere to be seen?
I can not seem to find a single picture of that color.

Thanks in advance! Gene. Niles CA
Neil Wilson
Body Type: 82-A/89-A
Model Year: 1930

Re: Paint colors

Post by Neil Wilson »

ModelAAfreddie wrote:
September 12th, 2020, 11:47 am
Hello. I’m a newbie....long time listener, first time cLler.

I’ve been reading old posts, books, etc. it looks to me like COMMERCIAL GREY was only color for early 1928 model aa, then GUN METAL BLUE from mid 1928- and forward.
My truck is a 1928 model aa. 82A cab with Ford script platform bed.

Is commercial grey the correct color? And is there an example of that color anywhere to be seen?
I can not seem to find a single picture of that color.

Thanks in advance! Gene. Niles CA
Despite the name, Commercial Gray was a dark green. I have not seen a paint chip for this color. Attached is a clip from the first Ford commercial ad booklet. If your AA is an August 1928 or prior, then it would have use the Commercial Gray color.

FYI - The 88-A platform with "Ford Truck" stamped on the back was used through mid-1928 (mid-year = May, June, July, August).
Attachments
Booklet #1 - er-28 page 3-crop1.jpg
Booklet #1 - er-28 page 3-crop1.jpg (456.99 KiB) Viewed 8043 times
Regards, Neil Wilson
Rumbler
Body Type: 82-A Stakebed

Post by Rumbler »