AA wheels

AA Ford Discussion Group relating to the repair and restoration of your AA Ford.
Shiloh8548
Body Type: 195-a
Model Year: 1931

AA wheels

Post by Shiloh8548 »

As I’ve said earlier I’m brand new to the Double AA and also to ever chatting on any online forums so please forgive me if I seem really green when it comes to how things are done.

That being said, I do have experience growing up poor. And that has turned out to be quite useful as I’ve grown in years. We didn’t have the money to go and buy new things. We fixed or Frankenstein parts to make it work.

My idea…… I got a bunch of wheels and rings when I bought my truck but they aren’t at all road worthy; badly rusted or seriously pitted. I’ve read horror stories about using rings that were worn and have flown off going down the road or worse when putting air to tire.
I’ve found a place that sells modern wheels that are the right size but without the center.
What do you all think about the idea of grinding rivets out of my old rusted wheels and welding them in to the modern tire ring?
It would eliminate the need for the dangerous split ring and make mounting tires and tubes safe. Although they wouldn’t be Acceptable at all to the purist they would definitly work for the guy that just loves driving his ole double AA.

Here’s some pictures of what I’ve got and what I’m thinking about getting……

David R.
Body Type: Chassis
Model Year: 1930

Re: AA wheels

Post by David R. »

It would be doable. I did something similar. I took a good rim off a wheel that had a busted center and a good center off a wheel with a rusted out rim. I cut rivets out and put two best parts together and riveted back with new 9/32” rivets. I found out that the holes didn’t line up so I welded up all the holes in center and re-drilled to match rim holes. I went through 14 wheels to come up with 6 useable ones, but still need another good ring.
Alan S. - SC
Body Type: Frame Only
Model Year: 1930

Re: AA wheels

Post by Alan S. - SC »