Email from former non-member, Now Member Vintage Jet

AA Ford Discussion Group relating to the repair and restoration of your AA Ford.
mikeg
Site Admin
Body Type: 150B
Model Year: 1930

Email from former non-member, Now Member Vintage Jet

Post by mikeg »

Dear people,

As a model builder, I am working now on a Shell Aviation Service Ford fuel truck from the early 30's. There is reference material available on the internet and some fantastic photos.
This photo is my main inspiration for this build. But I can't little information on the specifications of the truck. Also on your fine site there is no list of fuel trucks were it comes to Ford model AA or BB heavy duty trucks.

can you help me to identify this truck? It seems to be a standard type refuel bowser as it is seen on more locations throughout the 30s.
aatanker1.gif
My best guess: Ford model AA ‘Stake truck’ with separate build fuel tanker
Chassis: AA157 tandem (parallel?)
Cab: 82-B closed cab, “soft top” since it is white (with the word 'Shell' on top).
So most likely build between July 1930 -august 1931. The photo is dated december 1934 (with the famous KLM DC-2 'Uiver' prior to its final flight).

this is my 1/72 scale model so far. Next step is airbrush it in Shell's red and yellow. I am very curious about the details of this beautiful truck. Can you help me on this?
aatanker2.gif
kind regards,
Magno Martin (aka Vintage Jet)
Bob C
Body Type: Mail truck, Stake tr
Model Year: 1931

Re: Email from former non-member, Now Member Vintage Jet

Post by Bob C »

I think that is a BB not an AA. It's hard to tell from the picture but it looks like the
door only has two hinges not three like the Model A. Attached are some more early tankers.
shell-aviation-aviation-takes-off-four-d.jpg
1934-Ford-Model-BB-Texaco-Tanker-Truck-Red-fvl-2998896669.jpg
Reds34
Body Type: dump

Post by Reds34 »

My vote is a '34 because it appears to have the larger bolt circle for the floating axles.

Red
emf
Body Type: Firetruck