Books

AA Ford Discussion Group relating to the repair and restoration of your AA Ford.
Tony G
Model Year: 1931

Books

Post by Tony G »

Hi Guys,
As i'm just beginning on restoring a Model AA dumptruck can you recommend which manuals I should buy. I want the ones with the best details , drawings / diagrams, and procedures for reconditioning each system.I have one from Victor Page but its really just an overview.

Thanks,
TG
Old is good, New is bad
steve s.
Body Type: BB204A
Model Year: 1932

Re: Books

Post by steve s. »

Tony,

I can only offer you my opinion, but I have yet to find a really good technical book on AA trucks. Of course you should have the original instruction and parts books that came with the truck. I like the later -32-37- parts books also for reference and interchangeability. The Model A /AA Truck Owner by A G McMillan , is very interesting reading but not very technical.
The AA Truck Supplement to Restorer's Model A Shop Manual by Jim Shild has some good helpful information, but it is not a shop manual . There are some very good books devoted to the A car that are great for engine information, and some other common assemblies. I'm sure I haven't seen everything available so keep looking and let us know what you find . Steve .
Chris Haynes
Body Type: 82A
Model Year: 1930

Post by Chris Haynes »

The 1934 Ford Chassis parts book is a must.
Tony G
Model Year: 1931

Post by Tony G »

I went to visit Lebarron Bonney the other day and bought 3 books there.The Model A ford Mechanics Handbook vol. 1&2 by Les Andrews. I also bought The model A Engine by William & Paul Mcree. I like them so far. Thanks for the info guys.
Tony G.
Old is good, New is bad
Jay Neeley
Model Year: 1930

Post by Jay Neeley »