1930 AA Doodlebug/Jitterbug

AA Ford Discussion Group relating to the repair and restoration of your AA Ford.
Gumperguy
Body Type: jitterbug
Model Year: 1930

1930 AA Doodlebug/Jitterbug

Post by Gumperguy »

Hello Everybody-I'm very new at this and it has taken me about a half a year to make an entry. I'm Ben Dresser from Old Town Maine. I have always had an interest in old cars, I bought my first car (in 1965)when I was 16, a '34 Ford 2 door sedan, which I still have. All through the years I've always had an affinity for jitterbugs/doodlebugs. In the last 5 years I've been involved with a hillbilly bluegrass band, http://www.hillbillyband.com This bought on a desire to purchase/build a jitterbug/doodlebug which is nothing more than an expensive prop for the band. I found an early 1930 Ford AA which has the '29 looking cowl and the 5 hole duals and I put wire spokes on the front. I'll see if I can post a pic as soon as I can figure out how. So I'm wondering if there any doodle characters out there? I'm having fun restoring the double A truck to proper doodlebug status. Hopefully next summer I'll have it ready as a parademobile.-Ben Dresser
steve s.
Body Type: BB204A
Model Year: 1932

Re: 1930 AA Doodlebug/Jitterbug

Post by steve s. »

Hello Ben,

I have been a Doodlebug fan for a very long time. I came across one in a barn near my home when I was about five years old, and I've had the "bug" ever since. That one is still in the same barn, too.

For anyone unfamiliar with the term, a doodlebug is a home built tractor made out of just about any make car or truck , shortened up, usually with a second transmission and a truck rear axle. Of course the vast majority of them seem to be Ford A and T based .Some of them are very crude, and others show some real creative ingenuity. By now though, most are long gone , or very rusty, but they still turn up.

I don't own one now, but if one doesn't come along, I figure I have enough parts to build my own someday.