My truck...

Discussion forum for AA related activities, weekend outings, AA stories etc.
Eric P
Body Type: Model AA
Model Year: 1929

My truck...

Post by Eric P »

I've fixed the problem of crud in the gas tank. It took a lot of trying, but I got there. And, I got the radiator off, to the radiator shop and back, reinstalled it and filled it to where the radiator core was covered. I lost a little bit of coolant and it's not lost any since. I adjusted the brakes so they work much better and the truck stops in a straight line. After a lot of searching, I found the problem with the rear lights. Someone drove a staple through a wire and actually managed to cut the wire inside the insulation. I fixed that. I installed a new brake light switch and now I have a brake light. It's acting like the front end is really out of alignment, so I'll have to fix that up and the sun visor disappeared in a wind storm, so I need to get a new one.

I'm not a mechanic, I'm not even a shade tree mechanic. But, I'm enjoying fixing it and I think I'm doing not half bad!
Attachments
Truck pic 3.JPG
Truck pic 3.JPG (149.51 KiB) Viewed 8562 times
Truck pic 2.JPG
Truck pic 2.JPG (143.06 KiB) Viewed 8562 times
1crosscut
Body Type: 82-A

Re: My truck...

Post by 1crosscut »

Eric,
Nice looking truck. Glad to see that you are making progress and have been getting it back out on the road. I took a look at your original post on the forum and you mentioned the steering issues in that one as well. You need to get that sorted out so you can drive your truck without worry.
Lots of things can affect the steering. First off make sure the steering box is tight to the frame and then tighten the bolt that holds the steering arm onto the shaft from your steering box. You do not want any play in this connection.